

Ellie Herndon President

Jodee Crane Vice President

> Zac Sibbitt Treasurer

Carson McFatridge Secretary

Fajr Hicks Chief of Staff

Fisher Iseminger Director of Programming

> Brannan Tisdale Director of Policy

Katie Bee Director of Marketing

Connie Wade Deputy Chief of Staff

Colvard Student Union 198 Lee Boulevard Union Suite 314 Mailstop 9529 Mississippi State, MS 39762

> msstate.edu sa.msstate.edu

## Mississippi State University Student Association

## Minutes- Tuesday, September 5, 2023 Business Meeting

Vice President Crane calls the 7th meeting of the MSU Student Association Senate to order at 6:01.

Secretary McFatridge proceeds to call roll and determines that quorum is met with 45 members present.

Senator Keyes moves to approve the appointment of Ms. Denton and Ms. Khadgi, he is seconded by Senator Bevon. The two appointees are given the floor to speak on their interest in the positions. Senator Donaldson moves the previous question, she is seconded by Senator Heson. The decision moved to a vote via poll, and both are approved separately with votes of 42 Yay, 0 Nay, 0 Present.

Senator Heson moves to add Senator Wamble and Senator Butler to the roll, he is seconded by Senator Keyes.

President Herndon swears Ms. Denton and Ms. Khadgi in. They are both added to the role and to the GroupMe to participate in any further business.

Speaker Ray moves to add Senator Fuller to the roll, he is seconded by Senator Heson.

Senator Mellen moves to open the floor for parliamentarian nominations, seconded by Senator Howell. Senator Yelverton nominates Mr. Schuh, he accepts. Seeing no other nominations, Speaker Ray moves to suspend the rules for a voice vote, he is seconded by Senator Heson. The vote is called, and Mr. Schuh will now serve as the parliamentarian.

Senator Guest moves to approve the elections packet, he is seconded by senator Wamble. Senators Yelverton and Hulbert present. Senator Bevon moves to open a hearing, she is seconded by Senator Donaldson. Elections Commissioner McEnery is given the floor to address any questions or concerns concerning the packet. Senator Bevon moves to close the hearing, she is seconded by Senator Sanders. The approval is moved to a vote via poll where it passes with a vote of 44 YAY, 0 NAY, 0 Present.

Senator black moves to add Senator Heathcock to the roll, she is seconded by Senator Fox.

Senator Ballard moves to adopt Bill 1, he is seconded by Senator Sullivan. Senator Donaldson presents her legislation. Senator Heson moves to enter a period of discussion, he is seconded by Sullivan. Senator Guest moves the previous question, he is seconded by Senator Fuller. The vote is conducted via poll, and passes with a vote of 39 YAY, 1 NAY, 0 Present.



Ellie Herndon President

Jodee Crane Vice President

Zac Sibbitt Treasurer

Carson McFatridge Secretary

Fajr Hicks Chief of Staff

Fisher Iseminger Director of Programming

> Brannan Tisdale Director of Policy

Katie Bee Director of Marketing

Connie Wade Deputy Chief of Staff

Colvard Student Union 198 Lee Boulevard Union Suite 314 Mailstop 9529 Mississippi State, MS 39762

## Mississippi State University Student Association

Senator Beeson moves to adopt Bill 2, she is seconded by Senator Sweeney. Senator Donaldson presents her legislation. Senator Butler moves to enter a period of discussion, he is seconded by Sullivan. Senator Sanders moves to open a hearing for Vice President Crane, she is seconded by Senator Helton. Vice President Crane further explains the bill's purpose. Senator C. Robertson moves to previous question, he is seconded by Senator Fuller. The vote is conducted via poll, and passes with a vote of 45 YAY, 0 NAY, 0 Present.

Senator Wingerter moves to adopt Bill 3, he is seconded by Senator Kamal. Senator Donaldson presents her legislation. Senator Hood moves to enter a period of discussion, he is seconded by Hulbert. Senator Guo-Yue moves to previous question, she is seconded by Senator Guest. The vote is conducted via poll, and passes with a vote of 43 YAY, 1 NAY, 1 Present.

Senator Biggerstaff moves to adopt Resolution 1, she is seconded by Senator Mellen. Senator Fox and Senator Hubbard present their legislation. Senator Lawson moves to enter a period of discussion, she is seconded by Senator Bevon. Senator Keyes moves to previous question, seconded by Senator Guest. The vote is conducted via poll, and passes with a vote of 45 YAY, 0 NAY, 0 Present.

Wingerter moves to adjourn, he is seconded by Senator Umar.

The meeting is adjourned at 6:38