

MISSISSIPPI STATE UNIVERSITY MISSISSIPPI STATE UNIVERSITY

62nd Senate Minutes

April 4, 2023

Vice President Crane called the 1st meeting of the 62nd Senate of the MSU Student Association (SA) to order at 6:38 p.m.

Secretary McFatridge proceeded to call the roll and determined that quorum was met with 52 senators present.

Senator Sweeney motions to swear in the newly elected spring Senators, she is seconded by Senator Sullivan. The newly elected Senators made their way to the front of the room where President Herndon swore them in.

Senator Ray motions to approve the appointed Executive council members, he is seconded by Senator Keyes. The motion proceeded to a vote, and all five individuals were approved with a vote of 44 YAY, 0 NAY, and 0 Present. President Herndon then swore them in.

Senator Sweeney motions to approve the appointed Senators, she is seconded by Senator Denmark. The motion proceeded to a vote and all senators were approved. Yelverton: 43 YAY, 1 NAY, and 0 Present. Ballard: 40 YAY, 0 NAY, and 0 Present. Lin: 41 YAY, 0 NAY, and 3 Present. Wamble: 38 YAY, 1 NAY, 4 Present. Umar: 42 YAY, 1 NAY, 1 Present. And Heson: 41 YAY, 2 NAY, and 0 Present. These Senators were then sworn in by President Herndon.

Senator Willis motions to approve the Cabinet Proposal, he is seconded by Senator Denmark. Senator Denmark then moves to open a hearing for President Herndon to present her proposal, he is seconded by Senator Sullivan. President Herndon then presents. At the conclusion, Senator Bevon moves to close the hearing, she is seconded by Senator Sullivan. Senator Biggerstaff motions previous question, seconded by Senator Sanders. A vote is conducted via poll. The proposal passes with a vote of 43 YAY, 1 NAY, 0 Present.

Senator Mellen motions to add the appointed and elected Senators to the 62nd Senate Business GroupMe, she is seconded by Senator Denmark. Vice President Crane adds them.

Senator Denmark moves to add Senator Black to the roll, he is seconded by Senator Sweeney.

Senator Sweeney moves to conduct the vote for Parliamentarian, she is seconded by Senator Denmark. Vice President Crane opens the floor for nominations after explaining the position. Senator Jones nominates Mr. Kennedy Guest. Mr. Guest accepts the nomination. Vice President Crane entertains a motion to close nominations and vote on the position. Senator Biggerstaff moves to vote on the nominee, she is seconded by Senator Nakoom. The vote is conducted via poll and Mr. Kennedy Guest is named the Parliamentarian by a vote of 42 YAY, 0 NAY, 1 Present.

Vice President Crane takes the floor to explain the Speaker of the Senate position and how the election will proceed. She then entertains a motion to open the floor for nominations. Senator Wingerter motions to open the floor for nominations, he is seconded by Senator Willis. Senator Heson nominates Senator Kamal. Senator Denmark nominates Senator Bevon, Senator Keyes nominates Senator Ray. Senator Tillery nominates Senator Sweeney. Senator Bevon nominates Senator Mellen. All the Senators accept their nominations. All the nominees leave the room. All the nominees come in one at a time to give their speeches. Senator Wingerter motions to suspend the rules and stop the livestream, he is seconded by Senator Sullivan. Senators are now allowed to speak on behalf of the nominees. At the conclusion of this, Senator Jones moves to resume the livestream, he is seconded by Senator Wingerter. The nominees receive a majority vote, so a runoff is held between Senator Ray and Senator Kamal. Another paper ballot is passed out, and Senator Ray is elected the Speaker of the 62nd Senate.

Senator Jones moves to adjourn, he is seconded by Senator Wingerter. The 62nd Senate adjourned at 7:52 p.m.